1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Cutting and Fitting More Salon Plywood Panels

Well, winter is over and the epoxy finally cured on the last of the galley pantry panels. I also got another plywood panel installed on the port side of the salon.

The last pantry panel

Galley pantry lower panel is varnished, insulated, and ready to install

I’d forgotten the bottom panel when I varnished all the rest of the pantry panels. For all of the cabinet interiors, I’ve been using Minwax Helmsman Spar Urethane clear gloss. It’s a nice product and cures to a hard finish. I’ve used ICA polyurethane on most other panels, but brush application of Minwax is much less labor intensive than spraying the ICA.

Once I finished with the varnish, I epoxy sealed all edges and applied Buffalo Batt insulation on the underside. It’s been so cold that it took ten days for the epoxy to finally cure. Unlike the other pantry panels, these last three are going to be removable to provide access to the pump-out, fresh water, and water tank vent plumbing. So it’s essential that the epoxy on the contact surfaces is fully cured before I put it all together.

Bottom panel fits nicely and looks good

The back panel is a nice, tight fit

The right side slides in first, then rotate the left side in until it seats on the backing cleats.

Last view (hopefully) of the pump-out plumbing

Nice!

Good lookin’ box

I still have to make the face frame for the pantry, but that can come later. Next, I got busy on the next salon plywood panel.

I need one more panel here

The first toe rail vent duct is to the left in the pic above. One more panel to go in this section.

A scrap from the plywood stack is just the right width

I sifted through the plywood pile looking for 1/4″ Doug fir marine ply that I could use here. It was funny how happy I felt when I found a scrap that just happened to be the exact width I needed.

The EZ-One track saw is the only way to break down large panels inside a boat

That was easy

Once fitted, I removed the panel and cut Buffalo Batt insulation to fit

Fully wetted out with US Composites 635 resin and 2:1 hardener

Press the insulation in place and go home

Next day…this is getting absurd

It’s been so chilly that the epoxy just isn’t kicking. So I’ve got all kinds of sticky plywood and solid mahogany stock all over the place. I’m running out of space to put stuff!

There’s a narrow path with sticky epoxy on all sides!

Finally, the panels are installed

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: The Big 2018 Nor’easter Whooped Tent Model XXX

4 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Cutting and Fitting More Salon Plywood Panels

  1. Hi Q !!

    Was wondering where you get your marine plywood. I live in western MD. and seems I’m always looking for a piece or 2.
    Nice work as always. Hope the tent survives the wind !!

    Al

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Hi Al!
      As you’ll see in my most recent post, the tent survived but just barely. The damage to the paint is pretty bad.
      I got most of my marine plywood at Boulter Plywood when I bought a stack of it along with the mahogany ply I’m using for the interior. Recently I bought a couple sheets at the local Ace Hardware in Deale, MD. But it’s strange stuff…looks like what you can buy at Home Depot.
      Cheers,
      Q

  2. Kurt S says:

    Back to the Engine Room– Maybe you’ll fire up your Diamonds this year..
    Are you to going to go with 8 D’s?? Or Group 27’s in Parallel?? I’ll bet Group 27’s.. Who wants to Hump 8 D’s..

    What about the Ratty Looking Floor under the Panels?? And– The Panels look Great!! Mirrors..

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Hey Kurt! As you’ll see from my latest post, I won’t be splashing this year. I’ll probably go with 4D batteries…eventually.
      On the ratty looking subfloor in the galley, I’m not picky about appearance for things that will never be seen once the floor is installed. It’s sealed and preserved for another 50 years at least. That’s good enough. Once the bamboo floating floor is installed, you’ll forget all about it.
      Cheers,
      Q

Leave a comment