1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing the V-Berth AC Unit

With the salon settee mostly finished and the aft stateroom AC installed, next I tackled the V-berth AC installation. Since all three systems rely on the same raw water pump, I can’t use any of them until all three are ready to work.

All of the wiring, hoses, and main duct are routed and ready to connect

After installing the AC unit, I started cutting outlet holes

One AC outlet will be near the V-berth door to help chill the galley.

Sharpie marks the spot

Tape off the urethane clear coat and drill holes in the corners

I was very nervous about scratching the clear coat

Mission accomplished (with no clear coat damage)

I made a foam gasket for the duct transition box

Screwed in place from below

Ducting came next

I finished the other ducting for the V-berth back in 2018…mostly.

Mechanical, plumbing, and electrical connections are done in here

That is a fine looking air conditioner enclosure

The fiberglass filter material is ugly, but I need it until the refit is done

2″ PVC duct needs to be routed to the head

The plywood wall to the right is the forward wall in the head.

Next I cut a duct hole in the V-berth head

Next, I enlarged the hole to the size of the outlet frame

I sealed the exposed plywood all the way around with epoxy.

Duct outlet fits perfectly!

Duct connection to the transition box

The plywood with the first round hole and caulk seals the duct to the transition box

That’ll do

Buffalo Batt insulation wrapped in plastic finishes off the V-berth AC install

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: DIY Marine AC Raw Water Pump Controller

One comment on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing the V-Berth AC Unit

  1. Peter Hitchcock says:

    Cool……..

Leave a comment