1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing Still More Pantry Panels

All the sudden it’s like somebody flipped the Season switch from Winter to Spring. But only for a few days…they say it will snow again on Saturday. So much for getting a bunch of panels epoxied in this weekend. The glue just doesn’t set up very quickly when it’s freezing. But I did manage to get more pantry panels installed in spite of the cold temps.

The PVC plumbing for the black water tank pump-out fits tight to the hull

I used my kerosene heater to heat up the PVC and mold it into shape. It turns out there are electric PVC pipe blankets that do the same thing. But since I’m not a professional plumber, it’s not worth buying another expensive tool I’ll (hopefully) never use again. It’s essential that I keep the pipe as close to the hull as possible so I can maximize the space inside the galley pantry. A big pantry makes for a happy missus, and that’s pretty much my goal in life. 😉

Final pantry wall panel is glued and screwed in place

I also ran the PEX water line that will connect to the original Chris Craft chromed bronze water inlet that I’ll install on the mahogany toe rail, and I put the water tank vent line in position.

Finally! The clamps came off of the first two pantry sections

The first two pantry sections are all glued together. None of the panels there should ever need to be removed, so they’re fixed in place. This back panel on the last pantry section will be removable to give access the hoses and plumbing. I hate it when manufacturers don’t provide access for maintenance.

The 1″x 1″ mahogany backing cleats are installed for the bottom and back panels

Not bad!

It was at this point that I realized I’d forgotten the bottom panel here when I varnished all of the other pantry panels. I’ll get to that soon. I also had to do a bit of trimming on the upper panel, so it can also be removed if necessary. The fit was a bit too tight. Then I applied epoxy to the edges to seal it up. With as warm as it’s been the last two days, hopefully it’ll be cured when I arrive over the weekend. It’ll be nice to finish up this pantry and move on.

Oh…I should maybe also explain that I’ll be making a solid mahogany face frame to cover the edges of the pantry plywood panels and give the door hinges something solid to screw into. But that’s a cosmetic detail that can be done later.

Next up in our

2 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing Still More Pantry Panels

  1. Julian Davis says:

    Will you be adding pipe insulation to the pipes running next to the hull? Could save some grief some winter night.

    Butch Davis

    On Fri, Feb 16, 2018 at 8:08 AM, 1969chriscraftroamer46 wrote:

    > 1969roamer46 posted: “All the sudden it’s like somebody flipped the Season > switch from Winter to Spring. But only for a few days…they say it will > snow again on Saturday. So much for getting a bunch of panels epoxied in > this weekend. The glue just doesn’t set up very quickly ” >

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Hi Butch. Sorry for the late reply.

      The plumbing running next to the hull is all self-draining, so it doesn’t need insulation. I may end up insulating fresh water plumbing that will be full of water all the time.

      Cheers
      Q

Leave a comment