1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing More Pantry Panels

Another weekend went by without having my truck back from the transmission shop. On the upside, the worst of winter seems to be over. I got some plumbing done and another section of the galley pantry installed.

1-1/2″ PVC pump-out pipe doesn’t quite line up

To maximize cabinet space here, I need the pump-out pipe to conform as closely as possible to the longitudinal framing (stringers), which take a curve here. PVC pipe fittings don’t come in the angles I need, so I’ll have to do some customizing.

My kerosene bazooka is a room heater, epoxy warmer, and now PVC pipe softener

The key is to keep rotating the pipe and moving it back and forth so the entire area that needs to be bent gets equally heated. Move too slowly and you’ll cook it. If you’re moving fast enough, it’s hot enough to bend when the pipe starts to get shiny. It’ll stay hot and flexible for a minute or so.

Not bad. Two more bends and it’ll be ready to install

Second upright pantry panel gets glued and screwed in place

Running light wiring gets secured at a convenient spot

Top, bottom, and back panels are all insulated on the backside

R3 Buffalo Batt insulation is epoxy-bonded to the back of the panel

Buffalo Batt polyester nonwoven fabric will keep the inside space nicely insulated, which should practically eliminate the condensation that’s very common on fiberglass and metal boats. By sealing the backsides and edges of every panel with epoxy, I believe it will also stabilize the varnish on the pretty side of the panel.

After wetting out the contact areas with epoxy, everything gets clamped

I use long sticks to keep the top panel in place

More clamps for the bottom panel to pull it in tight

Looking good!

The PVC pipe turned out very nicely. I just have to wait for the epoxy to cure before I remove the panel clamps. Unfortunately, overnight temps have been well below freezing, so once I turn off the heater it starts chilling down and that brings the epoxy curing process to a near stop. If I had an unlimited supply of clamps, that would be less of a problem. But with these two pantry sections I’ve used all of them.

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing Still More Pantry Panels

2 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing More Pantry Panels

  1. Bill Uebbing says:

    I have spent the last two days rapt in this project, and the drama surrounding it unfolding like an epic with each new post.
    I have learned much:

    You are a much more patient and talented craftsperson than am I.

    That comment I made last week something like, “honey, let’s buy a big live aboard cruiser instead of a cabin for retirement” just went on ice. Unless you are offering right of first refusal when the next great triumph comes along!

    Thank you for doing this project and saving me from doing this project! Two valuable services, indeed.

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Hi Bill!
      Yup…if I had a time machine, I’d go back and never begin this project. But that’s mostly because the market flipped upside-down on big old boats. On the flip-side, I’ve picked up a ton of new skills along the way, and there’s a sense of satisfaction I don’t think you can get from just buying a boat off the shelf.
      Either way, stay tuned! There’s more coming!
      Cheers,
      Q

Leave a comment