1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Cutting and Fitting More V-berth Panels

Back into the V-berth, I’m still cutting and dry fitting panels, making hatches, and insulating in preparation for final assembly.

Nice fit on the molding

Making a hatch in the “desk-like structure” base panel

Glued, screwed, epoxy sealed, and insulated

Ready for final install…but not yet

Air conditioner space needs to be fully sealed

A 9kBTU marine air conditioner will sit on this shelf. It will draw air through a filter in a panel that will face where I was standing when I took this picture. The space the AC unit is in needs to be completely sealed from the hull envelope, so it only draws air from the interior space. So I need to cut and fit this 1/4″ Douglas fir marine plywood to closely fit the surrounding panels. The hull takes a curve here, and the panel follows that curve, which makes it really difficult to get the fit just right. The technique I use is to cut the panel close but oversized, then trim back little by little until it just fits.

That’s getting closer

…and closer

Done!

There’s just enough room for the 4″ insulated HVAC duct to squeeze into the space.

With this panel dry-fitted, next I marked off the position of the panel base and removed it.

Mahogany cleats at the base will provide a good seal

Next, insulate the panel and it’s ready to install

With sticky epoxy everywhere, I called it a day.

The process of dry-fitting each panel, then disassembling, insulating, then gluing and screwing it all together takes a lot more time than if I didn’t insulate and just went straight to final assembly. But we think the insulation will be worth it once the refit is done and the boat is in service. Condensation is always a problem on fiberglass and metal boats, but the insulation on the back-side of each panel should help avoid it. I just wish this was going quicker.

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: “Mr. Good-but-slow” Strikes Again!

2 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Cutting and Fitting More V-berth Panels

  1. As usual, As soon as I see you update, I jump on it like a Christmas gift ! It is truly amazing to watch essentially 1 guy built a 50′ yacht by himself. Your thought process and attention detail, coupled with craftsmanship and world class materials is pretty stunning. I applaud your restraint in dumping this thing back in the drink. Unless you have a boathouse with a lift, the day it hits the water, it wall start the melting process. It will be nice to have it all done, launched so you can go about enjoying the fruits of your many years labor. Having done a few boat remodels over the years, I feel your pain. Mine were on much smaller boats and were still horrifyingly expensive, as well a time consuming. I can only imagine what the spreadsheet on this bad boy looks like. All that said, when you are done, you’ll have a truly custom, one of a kind yacht that will likely last you till it becomes the executor of your estates problem ! Keep up the great work. I know it’s a bitch to stop and document each step and create this blog, but I for one really enjoy watching your journey. Tracy

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks Tracy! I really appreciate the kudos!

      You’re absolutely right about the challenges of doing old boat refits and the cost. The spreadsheet is, indeed, a thing to behold. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wished for a “rewind” button! That said, I’ve learned how to do lots of stuff on this project (probably most of it the wrong way!) and when things turn out well, as you no doubt know, it gives a real sense of accomplishment. But, frankly, blogging about it is one of the things I enjoy. The tedious pace of some of this stuff is far, far more irritating!

      Anyway, thanks for the thoughtful comments and praise. I really appreciate it!
      Cheers,
      Q

Leave a comment