1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing Rechromed Deck Hardware

I’m still making promising progress toward splashing the boat in October. My priorities mostly focus on getting the boat weather-tight on the top side and water-proof under the waterline. Installing the swim platform closed up a lot of underwater holes, and finally installing most of the portholes was a great stride toward the boat being weather-tight.

I also have a lot of holes on the decks, where the safety rail stanchion bases, cleats, and other necessary hardware mounts, as well as on the cabin top, where the mast goes. I suspect the surveyor will want the safety rails and navigation lights also installed before he’ll sign off on launching the boat. So I recently got busy with tape and a caulk gun installing a bunch of pretty chrome pieces. I can’t believe so much time has passed since 2016, when we got these original parts back from the chrome shop.

Original Chris Craft fairleads, rechromed, taped off, and ready for installation

Good squeeze out of the Sikaflex 291 LOT caulk

I think it’s important to see the caulk squeeze out not just around the base, but around each screw, too.

Squeegee off the excess caulk and pull the tape

The final step is to wipe off the caulk residue with mineral spirits and a clean rag.

Nice!

Next I taped off and installed the stanchion bases

The only 3/8″ oval head 316 stainless steel machine screws I could find that were long enough for the stanchion bases (2-3/4″) had slotted drive. I searched for a long time but couldn’t find Phillips.

Knocking the stanchion bases off one-by-one

I hit a problem with the water fill

I’m using ProPEX expansion tubing and fittings for the fresh water system. But the Pex fitting is a bit too fat to fit in the hole I cut in the mahogany toe rail. It’s only off by ~1/8″ or so, but the last thing I want to do is break out the hole saw on my varnished toe rail.

The solution: a skinnier 1/2″ hose barb with the same ID and similar OD

That’ll work

First, expand the ProPEX tube and compression ring

Then quickly insert the expanded tube over the barb

The tubing slowly contracts back to its original size, making a water-tight seal to the hose barb.

Taped off and ready for caulk

Again, good squeeze out

Done!

So that’s a lot of topside holes that are now weather-tight. But there’s still a big hole on the cabin top I need to cover up with more pretty rechromed bronze.

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing the Mast Base

This entry was posted in Boats.

2 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing Rechromed Deck Hardware

  1. StingrayL82 says:

    Q, the chrome shop did an outstanding job for it to still look that shiny…that, or you did an excellent job of storing the pieces. Are you turning over the diesels on a regular basis?

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Hey Frederic. The shop did a good job, and I waxed them before wrapping them in paper and storing them in a box at my house. They did hold up very well. And yes, I’m still turning them over. 😉
      Q

Leave a comment