1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: BURGLERIZED!!!

I went to the boat yesterday and was planning to make some major progress on the engine installation. When I arrived, I noticed the door to the tent was ajar. When I opened it, I saw my Excel air dryer in a strange spot near the door…the 1/2″ hose from the compressor had been cut. There were a few rolls of tape under the boat, too, which definitely wasn’t right. Going inside, things just kept getting worse.

All of my hand tools, except for the beat up old Skilsaw I use to cut aluminum, have been stolen. Makita saws and cordless drill set. Bosch routers, laser measurers, and drills. Cobalt drill sets and 10-packs of commonly used spares. Taper drill & countersink sets w/spare drills and countersinks. Vix bit set. Freud circular, jig, and sawsall saw blades and router bits. Slot cutters. Swagelok tubing bender. Hydraulic port-a-power set I was going to use to relocate the engines to their final place. All of the accessories for my Shopsmith. Partially used gallon cans of Awlgrip, activator, and thinner. Aluminum stock and original extrusions…everything. I’m still putting the list together, but basically, if it could fit out the door they got it.

Cops came and took fingerprints, and they put all of the tool registration numbers in their pawnshop database.

The boat’s not splashing this year. Now, instead of getting the engines in and interior done, I get to spend the next couple of weeks alarming the hell out of the tent and trying to replace a tool collection that took years to accumulate.

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Alarmed

35 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: BURGLERIZED!!!

  1. Jay K says:

    So sad to hear this. I just found your blog and I’m blown away by what you have done. I eagerly look for your next post and now THIS!!! Thanks for inspiring the rest of us, and keep your head up!! Like many of us, I hope to see you out on the water someday and get a close look at your fine work. I once heard of something similar happening to a father/son team building a 42′ sailboat from the keel up. Metal scrappers broke in an took all their marine hardware that they had salvaged over the better part of a decade. Story is here:

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks, Jay.
      Yup…that’s similar to what happened here. I’d been collecting parts since we got the boat. and a lot of it’s gone. And, of course, I didn’t keep every receipt. Lotta mistakes on my part here.
      Anyway, I’m getting past it. I’m off to the boatyard again today…to install an alarm.
      Q

  2. Doug says:

    I love your project and your goal of better than new restoration of this great old classic.
    I hate the thieves. I know how you feel from experience, but I think nothing can stop you. After being correctly upset for a while, force yourself to accept it as just history and only work towards the future again. You do great work.

  3. Conall says:

    I hated to read that update.

  4. Eric Vardek says:

    Heinous. Simply heinous. Many regrets and an rejoinder not to let it slow you down for one minute. Carry on Roamerman, this too shall pass.
    Cheers!
    -Eric

  5. Eric Vardek says:

    Heinous. SImply heinous. Many (many) regrets.

  6. frontierhermit says:

    I should have asked before borrowing your tools buddy. I’ll bring it back tomorrow.

    Crap Q sorry to hear about this setback. That sucks !! Hope the cops find it all real quick.

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Hey Tozer, what’s the best bang for the buck in game cameras? Hopefully, one that can be attached to a firearm or crossbow…target tracking might be nice, too.
      Or just a solid, motion-activated camera that takes reasonably good pix, day or night.
      Cheers,
      Q

  7. 47chriscraftcommander1973 says:

    Oh man…. Reading this just made me sick… That really ticks me off! I really hope you catch the bastards and get your tools back. This is a tough one to shake off and keep going but if anyone is capable of that you are. You’re doing an incredible job on this refit don’t let this take the wind out of your sails. Hang in there Q!

    Rob

  8. jim says:

    I know I am being a monday morning quarterback but consider a very large job box for your tools. If the tools are not heavy enough to prevent two gorillas from carrying it off, put in extra ballast for weight and chain it to some thing outside the door. Thieves like working out of sight and it they have to be exposed and potentially in view of some one can be discouraged. I keep two large job boxes on my trailer and they are so heavy you would need an excavator to lift them. Eight years so far, no problems yet. Good luck on getting back on track. Visit some pawn shops and look for your stuff.

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks, Jim.
      The cops said that a construction site in the county has been raided recently. They’ve got a 20′ container that’s chained and locked and a loader was parked to block the door. The thieves somehow moved the loader, cut the chains and locks and cleaned out the container. Bottom line is, when they want your stuff, they’re going to get your stuff. With that said, I’m looking at job boxes now in addition to alarm stuff.
      Cheers,
      Q

  9. Jade says:

    Insurance is good, but it doesnt fix the feeling of violation. Thieves are scum of the earth.

  10. mark young says:

    What a sad thing to read. Hope they catch the people responsible. Generally anyone around a marina has been very honest and helpful, thankfully this is not the norm. Good luck turning this around.
    Keep going! We are all waiting to see the end game.
    Mark

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks, Mark. I don’t have much faith in the police. The fellow who came out was very nice, but they seemed mostly interested in getting the inventory form prepared for the insurance company.
      Q

  11. Jade says:

    I am fucking pissed.

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks. I’ve been nursing a murderous rage since yesterday AM. This has gotta be taking years off my life.
      Q

      • Jade says:

        I agree. Im pissed as hell. Take a step back and dont let this stop you. Are there cameras in your marina?

        • 1969roamer46 says:

          As a matter of fact, the marina has signs up that say the place MAY be under surveillance BUT the video cameras are sitting in boxes…they were never installed!
          Q

          • Jade says:

            Omg, my marina is the same!! My dad is camera king, and the marina has signs posted saying we are under surveillance, he came over and said where the hell are the cameras?

  12. Tom says:

    Oh no! I just got sick to my stomach. Anything covered by insurance?

  13. rsundstrom says:

    That really sucks, I hope you catch them, sorry to hear this news.

  14. DWA says:

    Hi,Since we have a 58′ 1969 Roamer, we have, with gre

  15. Marty Molloy says:

    The ignorant bastards! Sorry to hear of this Q. I suppose that there wasn’t any video cameras in your marina/boat yard?

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      As a matter of fact, the marina has signs up that say the place MAY be under surveillance BUT the video cameras are sitting in boxes…they were never installed!
      sheesh
      Q

  16. Kenny King says:

    Q, My condolensces!!!! Bummer!! KK

  17. darrel says:

    thieves should be keelhauled!

  18. John Longwell says:

    Very sorry about that. I have had problems, but nothing like yours. Someone was checking this out for a while. Good luck.

  19. artwork210 says:

    Deepest sympathies. I cannot think of anything to say. Art and Pam

    Sent from Samsung tablet

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks, Art and Pam.
      You don’t happen to have a “way back machine,” do you? I’ve got my S&W .38 loaded and ready to go, but I can’t find my time machine for the life of me. I only need it for 5~6 hours, and I’ll bring it right back the second after you let me use it.
      Ah well…it was worth asking…
      Q

  20. Bob says:

    I feel for you. I hate f—ing thieves.

  21. John U says:

    That’s horrible!

Leave a comment