1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Dialing in the CAPAC Anti-Corrosion System

When I recommissioned the CAPAC impressed current anti-corrosion system, I hoped that the controller survived the decades the boat spent on Purgatory Row in a southern Maryland boatyard. The circuit board was dusty from the refit, but none of the components showed signs of having let the smoke out. So having safely made the transit from Deale to my new home port marina, I was anxious to power up the CAPAC and see how it performs.

Initial CAPAC power up shows 5.5 on the meter

According to the meter and Engelhard Model 10A12D CAPAC manual, 5 is “unprotected” for aluminum and 7 to 7.5 is “protected.” So 5.5 is only slightly protected. I turned the set-point adjustment potentiometer (on the left under the meter) fully clockwise, which should be the maximum. But the needle didn’t budge.

The manual does say that it can take up to six weeks for the impressed current protective film to fully develop, so I made sure to keep an eye on that meter whenever I visited the boat.

Next day, the needle was just over 6!

Two days later, the needle was at 7!

My aluminum hull is “protected”!

Three days later, something changed

I checked all of the electrical connections and found nothing wrong. But then I noticed that a thunderstorm had moved the boat around enough that one of my shore power cords had dipped into the water.

Could a new shore power cord lose electrons in the brackish water?

I adjusted the cord so it won’t end up in the water again, but the CAPAC meter is all over the place. It’s dropped as low as 5 and risen all the way up to 7.5. But the set-point rheostat has very little effect on the needle.

I dug into the CAPAC manual, and it says that for this condition, test the anode and reference cell by putting a jumper between pin 2 and 3, which puts +12vdc to the anode.

Major component wiring diagram

Jumper from 2-3

CAPAC meter pegs at the top of the scale, as it should

The manual says if it passes this test, there’s a defect in the controller.

The schematic isn’t terribly complex

I’m no electronics expert, but at least I can see the individual circuit lines and see what each component is. So I decided to identify each component and look for trouble spots.

Everything looks fine…except for one thing

My blog host always resizes photos. Right-click the image and save if you want to see it full-size on a computer screen.

This 2 watt resister shows signs of letting some smoke out

That’s R13 in the schematic. The “Theory of Operation” section of the manual (pp. 23-24) says anode current flows through that resistor and on through two transistors before going to the anode. But I don’t know how to read the schematic. There’s -12v on one side of the resistor and 13.37v on the side with the transistors. I used jumpers to attach another known-good 2w 220 ohm resister across R13’s terminals, bypassing R13 if it’s internally lost continuity, but nothing changed.

The circuits around the scorched resistor look fine

So next I took voltage readings at every spot I could easily access, noting the results on the schematic.

But what does it all mean?

After removing the jumper from 2-3, the meter slowly dropped to 6.5

So…my CAPAC meter tells me the anode, reference cell, and meter are working properly. Turning the set-point adjustment potentiometer has no apparent effect on operation, near as I can tell. And none of the components appear visually to have failed, though R13 does show it’s gotten warm.

If anybody has any ideas, please let me know in the comments!

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Remaking the Salon Settee III

This entry was posted in Boats.

10 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Dialing in the CAPAC Anti-Corrosion System

  1. Tom Waldman says:

    Not sure if my message went through but I had an issue with 1989 CAPAC system on my Fleming and I contacted the technician (now Field Engineering Manager) that worked on the boat in 1992. CAPAC is now owned by Evoqua Water Technologies and the contact is:
    Robert S. Weddle
    Field Engineering Manager
    Evoqua Water Technologies LLC
    robert.weddle@evoqua.com
    972-346-8159 Office
    He responded immediately to my email and he helped me get the system working again. Great guy and very knowledgeable of their systems. Good luck!

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks for the suggestion, Tom!
      I was actually already in touch with Mr. Weddle a year or two ago. Unfortunately, he didn’t know anything about the particular model of CAPAC I’ve got. But he did refer me to the retailer in Florida who sold me the appropriate anode and reference cell.
      Thanks for the suggestion anyway.
      Cheers,
      Q

  2. StingrayL82 says:

    I posted a bit ago but don’t see my response, so I don’t know if it posted or if you have to approve it, but I also thought of something else…transistors are cheap, especially those, so you might as well replace them, in addition to the capacitors and that burned out R13 resistor. http://www.partstack.com has those transistors.

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks for the suggestions!
      I had a bit of a spam comment problem a while back, with lots of links to Nigerian prince and HOT UKRAINIAN WOMEN sites. So I set the comments to require my approval if anybody includes links.
      On the advice of some old Navy techs who follow the blog, I snipped a leg off of DR1 and confirmed that the diode is shorted. That may not be the only fault, but it’s a big one since R14 gets its .7v supply from that diode, and R14 is the potentiometer that the rest of the controller uses to compare with the input from the reference cell. If R14 is mostly dead-stick, the higher current transistors never get energized.
      I’ve got replacement 1N1692 diodes on the way. If it still has problems after that, I’ll start replacing other components.

  3. StingrayL82 says:

    Q, R13 is a 200 ohm resistor, and it looks completely smoked. Set your DVM to the Ohm setting and see what it reads. I would go one step further and desolder and remove it, before testing it. There’s a chance that, if R13 truly failed, the transistors got fried. Also, Eric is spot on about the caps. You can test them all day long with a DVM and they’ll test fine, but what a DVM can’t do is test for electrical leakage. There is a special tester used to determine whether they’re leaking or not, but the general rule is to always replace the electrolytic caps. Before you do, though, the caps MUST be discharged, or you’re going to end up on the floor peeing yourself. Here’s a great link on how to do it: https://www.mojotone.com/blog/filter-cap-discharge-procedure

  4. Eric says:

    Hi Q, the thing that often fails with older electronics is the capacitors. Check for bulging/mis-colored canisters. If I were you, I’d replace all the capacitors and see what happens.

    So glad you’re in the water. Have enjoyed watching your progress from the beginning. -Eric

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks for the suggestion, Eric! I’m glad to hear you enjoy following the project.

      I’ve got an old Zenith Cobramatic console radio and record player, so I’m very familiar with the old capacitor problem. It may be hard to tell from the photos, but the caps on my CAPAC all look OK.

      Right now, I’m focusing on the blue wire that connects R4 and DR1 to the R14 potentiometer. If I’m reading the theory of operation section of the manual linked from the blog correctly, that blue wire should be feeding constant 0.7v to R14. But I’m seeing 0.000v on my Fluke meter. I’m no electronics engineer, but I believe that suggests DR1 died. So I’m going to pull one DR1 pin from the board tomorrow and see what my Fluke tells me about that diode.

      Let me know if you have other suggestions!

      Cheers,
      Q

  5. Mike Milburn says:

    Crap, figures it wouldn’t be that simple.

  6. Mike Milburn says:

    Any chance the trace is burned open or is that just the path of the magic smoke?

Leave a comment