1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Dismantling Tent Model XXX

Today was a long day. I’m beat. The tent is more than half disassembled. I think I can wrap it up tomorrow. And the surveyor says I’ll have the report tonight, so I can send it to my insurance company tomorrow. The Roamer will splash this week.

The day started early with me removing the roof frames

The roof frames behind the boat are gone!

This was a very precarious scaffold to remove

The vent fan is gone!

I can see the ground from the helm station!

The plastic is coming down

I had a helper–somebody I met on a boating forum!–who was a boss when it came to loosening the shrink wrap.

Let the strip tease begin!

Great…now I’ve got song ‘The Stripper’ stuck in my head…

While my able assistant pulled plastic, I was removing scaffolding

Section by section, I removed the frames and scaffolding

The big reveal!

That’s one good looking boat

It looks pretty much just as I imagined it would

The header picture on this blog is what I envisioned the boat could look like. Granted, I didn’t think it’d take this long to get there, but I believe I nailed it.

The boat is also insanely shiny

Looks like a bomb went off around the boat though

Tomorrow I’ll tackle the starboard side and clean up

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: The Mast

This entry was posted in Boats.

22 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Dismantling Tent Model XXX

  1. StingrayL82 says:

    Damn, Q, you did more than nail it, she’s stunning.

  2. boatnut23 says:

    She’s a beaut Q!

  3. Steve R says:

    You Nailed IT!!

  4. Kenny King says:

    You definitely “NAILED IT”!!!!

  5. Manuel says:

    She looks fantastic! Very happy for you.

  6. John B. says:

    Tent removal was like unwrapping a giant shiny present! What an epic reveal. She looks so sharp and clean in the sun! I have no idea when I started following along…possibly 2010 or so. I am so happy you’re finally getting close to truly enjoying the boat ON the water. Do you have any fun cruises planned in the coming years? Bahamas perhaps?! Cheers

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      It really was like unwrapping a giant shiny present, John. I’d replaced the shrink wrap skin before, but with the frames and scaffolding in the way it just didn’t have the same impact as being able to see the whole thing. The only cruise I have planned at this point is to get the boat to my home-port marina. lol We also talked about taking it up to New York to visit our son’s family, but nothing beyond that.
      Stay tuned!
      Q

  7. She looks great Q. I’m excited for you! Don’t forget to put the drain plug in! :-). You have to video the splash man!!!

  8. Harry says:

    She looks gorgeous!

  9. 47chriscraftcommander1973 says:

    Looks like a classic beast. Look at that bow. Love it! Its been a long time coming! I’m so excited and happy for you!
    Rob

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks Rob! I was absolutely stunned when I stepped away to take pictures…the boat looks amazing…as good as I imagined, but at the same time beyond my expectations.
      Cheers,
      Q

  10. Bob Mattson says:

    And the queen is unveiled. You certainly have more patience than I do. I have a 36 ft Hatteras that is more than I care to work on just to keep it usable. Maybe its old age lol. I have been following this resurrection since the beginning. With all the ups and down I admire your strong constitution. I wish you the the most enjoyment for your efforts.
    Bob

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks Bob! I hope to finish the refit by 2025. It’ll be nice to enjoy the boat as a boat for a while while wrapping up the interior woodwork.
      Stay tuned!
      Q

  11. Pete says:

    Wow, just amazing, it looks so shiny and new, a great tribute to your skill, you must be so proud. Can’t wait to see it in the water…

Leave a comment