1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: More on the Galley Pantry

It’s been below freezing for the better part of two weeks, with overnight lows dropping as low as 3°F, so I haven’t been too enthused about going to the boat, and I’ve been slacking on my blogging, too. But I have been enjoying decking out the shooting range I’ve got in the back 40 at the house. Turns out old circular saw blades make great targets! But with daytime highs well below freezing and a brutal wind chill, I can only empty a few mags (Maryland has an idiotic 10-round mag limit) before I have to head back inside where it’s warm.

Anyway, before the brutal cold came to visit, I did get more of the galley pantry cabinetry done.

Where I left off

First, I installed 1″x 1″ mahogany cleats for the back panel

Those cleats were the ones I recycled from the original mahogany toe rail.

Then I installed cleats for the bottom panel

And my ShopSmith bandsaw helped me make the upper cleats

Looks good

Bottom panel fitted

Back panel fitted

I need to secure the top of the panel to the deck frame

That works

Next, I had to make a box for the pump-out hose fitting

That’ll do

I think this will work

A very old scrap of mahogany I’ve been saving is just the right size

There’s always that question of whether to keep or throw out mahogany plywood and solid stock scraps. I generally lean toward saving scraps, and it turns out this one was worth keeping.

EurekaZone track saw helps clean up a nasty edge

I use my carbide-tipped saws to clean up edges rather than the jointer. The HSS jointer blades on my ShopSmith dull quickly when cleaning painted or varnished edges. That will be less of an issue once I get my new-to-me MiniMax FS35 jointer properly tuned up. It’s been too cold! When overnight temps drop to single digits Fahrenheit, 800lbs blocks of iron hold the cold for a long time!

Nice!

ShopSmith bandsaw lops off a slab of mahogany

This is yet another little chunk of scrap I’ve been hording that came in handy. It was a leftover from the new salon hatch frames.

Shopsmith jointer was just the right size to clean up the face from the bandsaw cut

Not bad for scrap!

Screwing it together

Bosch router rounds off the edges

It was tough holding it in place while I ran the router over the edges. I could definitely see the benefit of having a stationary router table.

Sanded and ready to temporarily mount

Not bad for a “scrap box”

That’s a wrap for the first pantry interior panels.

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Still More Galley Pantry Panels

2 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: More on the Galley Pantry

  1. Kurt S says:

    You should mark the old Mahogany “Scrap” with a date “1969?” Maybe.. That way the next person to see it will know it’s OEM..

Leave a comment