1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Final V-berth Veneers

It is Thanksgiving morning here in the United States of America, so I’d like to wish a happy holiday to everyone who celebrates it. One thing I’m certainly giving thanks for today is that, one by one, I’m knocking out all of the V-berth mahogany panels in this enormous boat project I took on back in late 2007. The final ones were veneers to cover the okoume bulkhead that separates the V-berth from the galley and salon.

First, I made a template out of sticks, using a hot glue gun

Then, I transferred the pattern to the last bit of ribbon stripe mahogany veneer

I used a razor knife to cut the veneer

I wetted out the bulkhead and veneer with epoxy, then messed around with other stuff, like taping off the pretty mahogany cabinetry around the bulkhead, until the epoxy started getting tacky.

Next, I applied the veneer and used a squeegee to ensure 100% contact

For an hour or so, I’d come back and hit the veneer with the squeegee to make sure no air bubbles developed. After a while it became clear that, having been rolled up for a long time, the veneer really wanted to return to the rolled-up shape. It was only the edges that were curling up, but something had to be done to keep them in place.

Sticks, clamps, and more sticks keep full contact at the edges

Next I wetted out the ‘desk-like structure’ top panel and clamped it in place

It looks goofy, but it works!

101 uses for having a level on the boat. #97 is using it to apply even clamping force across long surfaces.

Next day, off come the clamps

And on goes the cardboard

I don’t want any scratches to happen while I wrap up the V-berth

Next I wetted out the last bulkhead panel with epoxy

Wetting out the 1/8″ mahogany plywood veneer panel took some gymnastics

The last thing I need is sticky epoxy getting spread around in here. If I get epoxy on the face side, it will most likely leave a visible stain when it’s clear coated.

2″ tape works pretty good as ‘panel handles’ for 1/8″ plywood

The panel is in place, but I need sticks and clamps to hold it there

After hitting the panel with a squeegee many times, I went and got a pile of sticks, blocks and clamps to hold the veneer panel tight to the bulkhead.

Every stick, wedge, block, and angle is just so…

More sticks at the top

It took about 45 minutes and three tries to finally get everything to stay in place. I’d almost get this Rube Goldberg clamp contraption done, then one stick would slip, fall, and take out everything around it. But eventually, they all cooperated and I backed away very, very slowly.

Next day…the last panel is in!

So…that’s a wrap for the V-berth mahogany panel install. I’ve still got a bunch of moldings to make, but I’m having trouble with my jointer. I think I need a new one…a Grizzly 8″ with the helical carbide cutters would be nice to find under the Christmas tree this year. Time will tell if Santa’s listening.

But for now…Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: More Galley bulkhead Veneers

3 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Final V-berth Veneers

  1. After all this time, its starting to really take shape, congratulations! Have an objective for the final “splash”?

  2. John Casteel says:

    Happy Thanksgiving and you’ve made great progress this year.

Leave a comment