1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Throne Dais Install

The v-berth head is finally coming together. The cabinet and wall panels are installed and the ceiling panels are faired and ready for installation. Next I need to install the “throne” dais and a little filler panel, then cut the exterior wall panels leaving a hole for the door.

Dry fit the throne dais

Dry fit the throne dais and drill countersunk holes to fasten it to the floor

That little triangular area to the left of the dais is going to need a funky shaped piece of plywood to cover it.

Drill pocket screw holes in the throne dais

Drill pocket screw holes in the throne dais to secure it to the wall

Then glue and screw the dais in place

Then glue and screw the dais in place

I also made the little panel on the left side of the throne dais to fill the gap that was caused by the 1″ solid aluminum round bar chine rising up at the bow and blocking the floor, cabinet, and back panels from meeting at 90° corners. Once it’s filleted, faired, and painted, the odd little angled panel will be practically invisible.

Good looking throne room

It was at this point that I needed to cut the last wall panel that attaches to the solid mahogany corner piece of the outside wall. Turns out those pieces of mahogany plywood are on the bottom of the plywood stack in the salon.

Gad.

To get to the bottom of the plywood pile, I have to move the pile sheet-by-sheet to the port side of the salon. But the port side of the salon is where my EZ-One track saw table is. So I have to move that to the galley, but the forward fuel tank is still in the galley from when I welded up the fuel fill. Before I reinstall the fuel tank, I need to weld on tabs so I can securely fasten the tank to its cradle. I also need to install permanent galley floor supports and insulate the floors in the galley, since that will be practically impossible once the floor is re-installed. THEN I can install the forward fuel tank, move the track saw table, and dig to the bottom of the plywood pile to get the mahogany ply for the v-berth head. And all of this is so I can install the portholes in preparation for getting the boat in the water.

My plan to splash this year is looking less likely all the time. But I’m not giving up just yet…

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Galley Floor Supports

5 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Throne Dais Install

  1. alloyed2sea says:

    Strictly speaking, if more than one person is standing on it – that’s a dais; one only – podium.
    Pedantically yours,
    William the wordsmith.

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Dear William,
      Much as I would like to lay sole claim to the forthcoming Japanese bidet throne…alas, the V-berth is for guests’ use (or the missus or even yours truly, on occasion). Though they may individually use the bidet throne, they collectively deliver their “messages” to the holding tank and, thus…dais.
      😉

      Cheers
      Q

  2. William B. Kelleher says:

    One thing always seems to lead to Three more.

    Bill Kelleher

  3. Marty Molloy says:

    No saltwater bidet? ;0)

Leave a comment