1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Aft Stateroom Doors

Merry Christmas everybody!

With the ongoing cold snap keeping me indoors, I’m catching up on articles about things I wrapped up over the last couple of years that I never got around to writing about. Gotta clear up space on my camera’s memory card!

Similar to the V-berth doors I posted about yesterday, the aft stateroom doors are also made of Tricel honeycomb panels topped and edged with mahogany veneers, and varnished with ICA two-part urethane base clear coat.

3/4″ Tricel with 1/8″ ribbon striped mahogany plywood veneers makes a 1″ thick door

I start by using a multi-tool to remove ~1/2″ of honeycomb from the edge of the Tricel panel all the way around the perimeter. I’ve got a bundle of pre-cut mahogany sticks in varying lengths that measure 5/8″ x 1/2″. After wetting everything out with epoxy, then painting on a layer of wood flour-thickened epoxy, I shove the mahogany sticks into the space that used to be honeycomb and clamp it lightly together. That gives a solid wood edge to the door all the way around.

Next, I epoxy the 18″ ribbon striped mahogany plywood to the Tricel on both faces, then put another Tricel panel on top and add lots of heavy things to press the assembly together. Come back the next day, and the 1″ thick door is ready for the next phase.

I use a router to clean up the door edge

Original door hardware came back from the chrome shop looking good!

These parts have been sitting in a box, wrapped in tissue since I sent a batch of OEM parts off to the chrome shop in 2016.

Cutting holes for door handles and other hardware happens before varnish goes on

Applying veneer edge-banding is the last step before varnish

Done and ready for a final dry fit

Looks good!

Aft stateroom and aft head doors both got 3 coats of ICA 2-part clear

That grain really lights up with the camera set to flash

The aft head door is a slider

Whoa!

The effect from that flash is pretty wild. It doesn’t look like that in person with normal lighting. It will look even better when I can pull down all of the protective cardboard.

Nice!

Rechromed OEM door hardware looks great!

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Aft Head Light Switch Plate

Leave a comment