1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: The Aft Storage/HVAC Closet

Things have been very busy recently, and I’ll be taking a few weeks off of the blog to go to the other side of the planet for my younger son’s wedding. But before I go, I wanted to post updates of the aft cabin storage/HVAC closet.

With the laundry closet close to done, next is the storage closet

First, fit 1″x 1″ mahogany cleats for the back panel

Cleats on both sides

Next, pull the 12ga 240v cable for the marine air conditioner and 14ga cable for the 120v transom outlets

Next, dig into the shrinking plywood stack and pull out the last 1/4″ Douglas fir panel.

Marking off the back panel

First try didn’t work

I thought I’d be able to remove small cutouts so I could pivot the panel into place around the thruhull and hull framing in this area. Unfortunately, the angle of the thruhull makes it impossible to pivot this panel in place. So I ended up cutting the lower left corner clean off.

With the corner gone, the panel pivots into place

Next, cut a small panel to fill in the corner

That’s sufficiently tight

If the panels fit too tightly, they don’t pivot into place.

Next, cut some Buffalo Batt insulation to fit

Wet out the panel with epoxy

And lay on the insulation

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: The Aft Storage/HVAC Closet Back Panel

4 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: The Aft Storage/HVAC Closet

  1. Douglas Shuman says:

    OMG – The LAST 1/4″ doug fir panel! major progress point….

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Sorry for the delay responding, Douglas!

      It’s funny, isn’t it? The sense of accomplishment I got from pulling that last doug fir panel out of the stack was absurd! lol

      Cheers,
      Q

  2. Kurt S says:

    That’s sufficiently tight– I would say it is too..

    Enjoy your trip..

Leave a comment