1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Wrapping Up the Galley Storage Cabinet

While building the last cabinet in the V-berth, I realized that I have to finish the galley storage cabinet so I can finish the galley bulkhead installation, then apply pretty veneers to either side of the bulkhead so I can cap the edges of the plywood around the V-berth door opening with mahogany moldings…so THEN I can finally wrap up the V-berth.

It’s all connected

I started by finishing the mahogany cleats that the cabinet panels will attach to.

Cutting cleats

Spray foam insulation cleaned up, and cleats dry fitted

Cleats are all fitted

Leftover ribbon-stripe mahogany panels are just the right size

I’ve written before about the hard choice when it comes to keeping plywood scraps in the hope that one day they’ll be useful versus space constraints that favor throwing out scraps. Turns out it was a good choice to keep these long and skinny pieces of 1/4″ mahogany plywood.

Mark the cut points with a fine-point Sharpie

Use my EZ-One track saw to cut off the excess

Awesome little time saver

I use a shop vac attached to a Dust Deputy vortex separator for dust collection when working my saw and other power tools. Having to walk over and turn the shop vac on and off was inconvenient, so I use this indoor/outdoor remote control switch instead.

$13 on Amazon

Nice fit

Two down, one to go

Last one looks good

Dry fit is done…time to glue up

Getting creative with clamping devices (AKA sticks)

Next day, trim and final fit the back panel

 

Insulating the back panel with Buffalo Batt nonwoven fabric

Wet out the edges with epoxy and get ready to install

Epoxy thickened with wood flour and cabosil is the glue

More creative uses of ‘clamping devices’

That’s a wrap for the galley storage cabinet interior

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Wrapping Up the Galley Bulkhead

Leave a comment