1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Making an Origami Spray Booth

I haven’t posted in a while because I got knocked down for a couple of weeks with the nastiest cold I’ve ever had. I’m back in the saddle now, so I got busy building the folding spray booth I’d been pondering for a while.

Good spot for a folding spray booth

I considered using wood or metal tubing for the frames but settled on PVC pipe. I’ll use 1-1/2″ for the walls and 3/4″ for the roof.

Recycling PVC pipe from earlier versions of Tent Model XXX

Wall panel with door opening

Walls and roof modules done

Looks about right.

Folds up nice and tight to the tent

Next, I shrink wrapped each panel

PVC is challenging to shrink wrap because it doesn’t have the rigidity of wood or metal. When it gets hit with the heat gun, its rigidity becomes about the same as a wet noodle. Shrink too little, and wind will cause the plastic to flap, which can kick up dust…not good for a spray booth. But shrink too much, and the PVC pipes contort. I didn’t do too bad with the roof and wall panels…just a little tight in a spot or two.

My origami spray booth!

It was a bit windy when I set it up, so it took longer than it would on a calm day. Plus, I’m using shrink wrap strapping to hold all of the parts together, and getting all of them in the right spot was a bit of a trial and error process. Still, it only took two hours to set up.

Filter box is protected from the elements under plastic to the left of the door

The view from the inside

The gabled roof should provide adequate structure to suspend plywood panels with string. That’s the theory, anyway. Time to test it out.

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Spraying Mahogany Panels in the Origami Spray Booth

3 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Making an Origami Spray Booth

  1. stingrayl82 says:

    You got hit with the crud huh? We had it out west too and it was absolutely miserable. I think it took about two or three weeks for me to get over mine. Glad to see you’re back up and running.

  2. Peter Hitchcock says:

    “Origami Spray Booth” love it…. can you fold it into a swan when you’ve finished…!!??

Leave a Reply

