1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Final Exhaust Riser Fit-up

The V-berth head is still stalled while I wait for my painter to show up. But there are so many other things going on that the refit continues to move forward. Most recently, I did the final fit-up on the exhaust riser parts in preparation for welding them all together.

Port riser points at the muffler

New showerhead parts fit well

New showerhead parts fit well

The showerhead drain hole goes at the bottom

The showerhead drain hole goes at the bottom

Showerhead test fitted and marked

Showerhead test fitted and marked

Starboard riser ready for fit-up

Starboard riser ready for fit-up

Sharpie marks the spot

Sharpie marks the spot

Just like that

Just like that

The raw water hose needs to come down like so...

The raw water hose needs to come down like so…

Heat exchanger outlet needs to be reoriented

Heat exchanger outlet needs to be reoriented

I suppose I could also use a formed hose that takes a hard 45° turn with a connector pipe to a flex hose…gonna have to ponder on that for a bit.

Cutting the hole for the raw water inlet proved challenging

Cutting the hole for the raw water inlet proved challenging

I used a cutoff wheel to cut slots in the showerhead water jacket, but the heat from that discolored the stainless. I thought I’d try using some good Bosch metal cutting jigsaw blades to connect the slots, but that 12 gauge 316 stainless burned up blades after about 3/16″. This isn’t going to work. So I went online and started looking for options..and that’s when I discovered that the price for hobby-grade plasma cutters had gone down significantly since the last time I checked.

The Zany 50 amp plasma cutter

The Zeny 50 amp plasma cutter…$188 on ebay, delivered

The Zeny plasma cutter comes with almost everything in the box. You have to supply the air hose, air quick disconnect, and plug for the electric cord. I had a ruined air hose from the bastard thieves who stole my small air compressor, among many other things, during the big 2014 break-in. But it was just what I needed to connect the supplied air filter to the plasma cutter.

The eye shield/mask is a bit of a joke, but for $188 it's amazing they include it

The supplied eye shield/mask is a bit of a joke, but for $188 it’s amazing they include it

Ground clamp is marginal, but for this price...

Ground clamp is marginal, but for this price…

The torch isn't elegant but, again, for $188...

The torch isn’t elegant but, again, for $188…

I’d rather have a finger trigger than a thumb switch, but it all works.

First test cut and...IT WORKS!!!

I used three Bosch jigsaw blades making that one wedge cut

Five seconds later...

Five seconds later…

I’m waiting for the 1-1/2″ stainless tubing I’ll use for the raw water inlet to show up, and I didn’t want to cut too far. I’ll do a prettier job for the real deal.

As long as the Zany 50 holds up for a couple of cuts, it will easily pay for itself

As long as the Zeny 50 holds up for a couple of cuts, it will easily pay for itself

Gotta love the Chinese

Gotta love the Chinese

They can make a high tech inverter plasma cutter with a digital readout and deliver it to the east coast of North America for $188, with a bunch of people making a bit of profit along the way. But the Chinese interpretation of a phillips drive hose clamp leaves a bit to be desired. There’s the shape of the phillips drive, but there’s no depth to it. Just goes to show that you can steal an idea, but the execution is what really counts. But for the price, I really can’t complain.

I’m going to hold off on welding the risers together until the 1-1/2″ tubing arrives for the raw water inlet. I’ve got to back purge the riser by filling them with argon before welding, and there’s no sense in wasting gas doing that more than once.

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Dry Fitting the Stainless Bow Safety Rail

Leave a Reply

