1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Disaster Narrowly Averted…and a Polisher Upgrade

I went to the boatyard last weekend and saw something that made by stomach drop through the floor: one of the huge trees near the tent had toppled during a recent series of storms that swept through the area. I mean a BIG, YUUUGE freakin’ tree, with a 6′ diameter trunk. And it fell toward the forward part of my tent. It knocked the swim platform clean off the boat directly in front of my tent–maybe two feet away. Fortunately, it missed the tent by about 6″.

In other news, I polished some stainless rub rails back in May 2016, and in the process figured out that my Makita polisher isn’t really set up to use buffing wheels. So I made an extension for the arbor that makes it a lot easier to polish hard metals, like stainless.

That doesn't look good

That doesn’t look good

Big freakin' tree

Big freakin’ tree

That will NOT buff out

That will NOT buff out

The trunk is taller than me

The trunk is taller than me

There used to be a swim platform on that boat

There used to be a swim platform on that boat

Missed the tent by inches!

Missed the tent by inches!

Bummer...power pedestal got taken out

Bummer…power pedestal got taken out

While thanking my lucky stars, I got to work modifying my Makita polisher.

Stubby polisher arbor

Stubby polisher arbor

Pad barely threads on

Pad barely threads on

Buffer wheel touches the polisher body

Buffer wheel touches the polisher body

5/8-11 coupling nut and 3" bolt cost $3

5/8-11 coupling nut and 3″ bolt cost $3

Nice!

Nice!

Ready to get buffing!

Ready to get buffing!

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Refurbishing Stainless Stanchions

4 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Disaster Narrowly Averted…and a Polisher Upgrade

  1. ndawg12 says:

    Good for you, hopefully luck is starting to turn in your favor on this massive project. Have you taken any special precautions with Hurricane Matthew coming in? Not sure exactly where exactly you’re at (Chesapeake Bay ?) but I’d hate to read a setback story next week!!

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Hi ndawg12! I haven’t taken any special precautions. It looks like Matthew isn’t headed this way, but if it takes a turn, I’m pretty confident in the tent. Beyond that…just gotta trust the goddess of the seas.
      Cheers,
      Q

  2. Cody mayo says:

    I love your Blog. I have an old CC Roamer and you are my hero! What compound do you use and what is your process for polishing the stainless.

Leave a Reply

