1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Running Lights

With the muffler platforms welded in and epoxy coated, I’ve got the mufflers positioned and attached to the exhaust outlets and have started fabricating the exhaust risers. But in between the bigger jobs, I’ve been closing up holes on the exterior as time permits. The running lights are now installed, as are the fuel, water, and holding tank vents.

The boat only came with one OE navigation side light

The boat only came with one OE navigation side light

The light base on the left came with the boat. On the other side, there was a cheap, pressed stainless Perko light that just looked wrong. So I monitored Ebay and eventually picked up a nav light that was from the Roamer series and looked right. But when I removed the chromed bronze cover (snapping the screw in the process in spite of having soaked the base in penetrating oil for a month!), I found the mounting holes were different.

Chrome covers and new glass lenses look good

Chrome covers and new glass lenses look good

I used my ShopSmith to mill new holes in the base

I used my ShopSmith to mill new holes in the base and extract the broken screw

Needs new gaskets, too

Needs new gaskets, too

New neoprene gaskets vs the old canvas one

New neoprene gaskets vs the old canvas one

I made new lens gaskets, too

I made new lens gaskets, too

Next, I wire brushed bases and applied several coats of clear enamel

Hole #1 closed

Hole #1 closed

Hole #2 closed

Hole #2 closed

Hole #3 closed

Hole #3 closed

And then, since I was on a roll closing up small holes on the exterior, I installed all of the tank vents.

Water tank vent

Water tank vent

These aren’t the original tank vents, but I like the design better. The originals used a screen to keep out mud daubers, but the screens inevitably clog and aren’t especially attractive.

Fuel tank 1

Fuel tank 1

Fuel tank 2

Fuel tank 2

Water tank vent

Holding tank vent

The holding tank vent is identical to the OE design, but it’s made of polished 316 stainless instead of chromed bronze. It sits in a smaller hole than the other tank vents, so I couldn’t use the same design everywhere without enlarging the hole, and I don’t think it’s worth it to break open the new paint. When I attach the hose, I’ll orient the screens facing down.

That’s a wrap for nav lights and tank vents. Two more items off the honey-do list.

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Engine Wiring

 

3 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Running Lights

  1. Steven Kuhlmann says:

    I have had my original side lights, 1968 Roamer 37′ Aluminum re-chromed. I have found LED bulbs that fit the original socket and fit into the glass dome as well. I wonder if you could tell me where you found the glass domes? Also have you re-cast the “Chris Craft Roamer” nameplates yet? I would like to share the cost of set up if you have. I am attempting to epoxy the nameplate back together, its in 3 pieces. Then find someone to make a cast so that I can say goodbye to the pot metal and do the thing in brass and chrome.

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Hi Steven.
      I have a new, spare red glass dome that I don’t think I’ll be needing. I’ll try to figure out where I got the green one and let you know.
      On the nameplate, I was thinking of making a CAD version and having it made in stainless. But for now that hasn’t been my top priority, if you know what I mean.
      Stay in touch!
      Cheers.
      Q

    • Steven Hill says:

      Steven where did you find LED relacement bulbs for your Roamer!? I have a 46′ 69 in Dallas area and wanted to replace my old ones!
      Could you share your contact?

Leave a Reply

