1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Galley Storage

I wrote this article last year, but then I got busy and forgot to post it. Galley storage isn’t exactly required to splash the boat later this year, but I wanted to clear out the draft folder before I forget about it again.

Port side of the galley bulkhead is a good storage spot

Behind the port side galley bulkhead is a good storage spot

Behind this panel is one of the compartments I made when I reconfigured and strengthened the bow seat. Eventually, the panel will be glued and screwed in place, then covered with mahogany veneer. But first, I need to make the storage inside. After cutting and installing the 1″ x 1″ mahogany cleats that will support the top and side panels, I cut the panels themselves.

Good looking mahogany panels

Good looking mahogany panels

4th coat of varnish

4th coat of varnish

Once the varnish cured, I flipped the panel over and sealed the back-side with epoxy.

Sealed with epoxy

Sealed with epoxy

I’m leaving the edges uncoated because I’ll epoxy that area to the cleats, and I want the epoxy to really soak into the wood. While the epoxy was still wet, I applied a layer of insulation.

Buffalo Batt insulation should help control condensation

Buffalo Batt R-3 insulation should help control condensation

First panel installed, along with overhead insulation

First panel installed, along with overhead insulation

Overhead panel installed

Overhead panel installed

It was around this time that I decided tambour doors would be really cool here. Tambour doors have been around for centuries. You’ll see them on antique roll-top desks as well as “appliance garages” in modern homes. I believe Hatteras used them, too, though I’ve never seen a Chris Craft with them. I need to work out the details on the doors before I continue. I can buy a set, but mahogany from a door maker may not match what I’ve got already. From what I’ve read they’re not hard to make, so I’m tempted to DIY them. I’ll stew on that for a while and get back to this when other priorities are out of the way.

Next up on our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Reinforcing the Exhaust Parts

Leave a comment