1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: The V-berth “Throne Room” Plumbing

My first attempt at cabinetmaking is taking longer than expected, but it should be over soon. The V-berth “throne room” side cabinet is now fully insulated and ready for some final adjustments. But first I’ve got to get the sink plumbing laid out. I also have to keep reminding myself that I’m doing sink plumbing so I can finish the V-berth head so I can put in portholes so the boat can splash later this year.

Throne room side cabinet

Throne room side cabinet is pretty much done

Once the epoxy cured on the cabinet inside panels, I used my plunge saw to cut the openings for the toilet paper storage and the TP holder.

Fully insulated on the backside

Fully insulated on the backside

Shopsmith bandsaw trims the throne dais flush

Shopsmith bandsaw trims the throne dais flush

Sink drain pipe needs to be installed

Sink drain pipe needs to be installed

Sink effluent will flow downhill

Sink effluent will flow downhill

90° fitting points the pipe in the wrong direction

90° fitting points the pipe in the wrong direction

Heat gun permanently redirects the pipe

Heat gun permanently redirects the pipe

Good enough fit

Good enough fit

One pipe cutout goes here

Good thing I waited to cut this hole

Good thing I waited to cut this hole

I initially marked where I thought the pipe would be. But after putting the actual pipe in place and checking it with a level, it ended up quite a bit lower than I first thought. The challenge here was that the end of the pipe near the sink has to be lower than the drain, but the welded in thru-hull for the sink drain is pretty high…just a few inches lower than the sink drain height. Anyway, it all looks like it’ll work out.

Side cabinet final fitting is done

Side cabinet final fitting is done

Next up on our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Kitchen Storage

Leave a Reply

