1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: The V-berth Head Ceiling

With the outer wall and toilet step-up roughed out for the V-berth head, next I need to get the ceiling panels cut and framing fitted.

Original headliner cleat will hold the ceiling panel

1″ x 1″ mahogany headliner cleats will secure the perimeter of  the ceiling panels

Short cleats go in the corners

Short cleats go in the corners

The big mahogany overhead beam in the pic above isn’t quite tall enough, so I need add some material to bring it down to the same level as the perimeter cleats.

Good thing I didn't throw away this plywood scrap

Good thing I didn’t throw away this plywood scrap

There’s always a question about scrap material: keep it or toss it? Some scraps seem to sit around forever and just get in the way–better to toss it and call it done. But other scrap ends up being the perfect size for a particular job, which saves full sheets of ply for other projects. It’s always a tough call whether to throw it out or keep it. I tend to default to keeping it, and that’s worked out well here.

Gap filled

Gap filled

Corner pieces done

Corner pieces done

Fore-aft cross braces will help stabilize the ceiling

Fore-aft cross braces will help stabilize the ceiling

I’ll trim the brace to fit between the bulkhead and the big frame in the pic above.

First cross brace glued and screwed in place

First cross brace glued and screwed in place

Overhead braces done

Overhead braces done

There are three braces. The middle one is especially wide because that’s where I’ll join the two overhead panels.

Need to cut a hole for the overhead LED light

Need to cut a hole in the panel for the overhead LED light

Hole saw gets it close

Hole saw gets it close

Cut-out for installation springs

Clearance looks good

Clearance looks good

When the light slides home, the springs snap down tightly to the top-side of the panel, holding it securely in place while giving the option of easy removal if necessary. No screws or other hardware is required.

Nice fit!

Nice fit!

Nice fit!

Nice fit!

I know I took additional pix of the overhead panels but can’t find them. Microsoft sent out an “update” that disabled my computer’s ability to read SD cards a few months back, and it’s really messed up my system for documenting this refit. Anyway, the ceiling panels are all cut and test fitted. Before I permanently install them, I’ll apply a layer of 1708 fiberglass and fair the inside surface of the panels, then epoxy seal and put a layer of Buffalo Batt insulation on the top side. This is the same approach I used on the aft head. The combination of spray foam on the hull and Buffalo Batt insulation backing each interior panel really made a huge difference during the freezing winter.

Next up on our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: The V-berth “Throne Room”

 

5 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: The V-berth Head Ceiling

  1. Tom Long AKA Florida Boater says:

    Oh yes, the old “What size scrap pieces do I save” conundrum. As a Fellow Wood Butcher myself I have struggled with that for years. I got to the point of having more scrap than real buildable material. My Mentor Norm Abram wrote in his book about building his dream house the following; The smallest scrap to keep is recommended as Plywood – 1 sq foot, Dimensional Lumber – 12″, Hardwood – all of it. It was tough to throw out “perfectly good” wood but after sucking it up, my shop and myself are in a much happier place! It’s tough but I hold fast. Now a big boat re-furb…hmmm… if you got the space…well…

    Power On!!!

  2. Cody mayo says:

    What is the brand name of the LED light you are putting in the head and where did you get it. I need some.

  3. bill5062 says:

    I really enjoy your documentation of the refit. Did I miss the blog where you added 3 feet to the boat. In the past it was described as a Chris Craft Roamer 46. Now it’s “49”. How did you add the 3 feet? (LOL!!) I live in Annandale. How far am I to where you will have it docked? I want to make plans to come to the “open boat” tour this fall??!!

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Hey Bill! Looks like I fat-fingered the extra 3′ onto the boat. lol Thanks for letting me know.

      If all goes as planned, it’ll be down on the DC waterfront in SW, where The Wharf construction is going on.

      Cheers,
      Q

Leave a Reply

