1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Making the Aft Stateroom Steps Pretty

With the salon steps de-stapled, sanded, and stained, I set about doing the same thing for the steps down to the aft stateroom. Then I applied heavy coats of West System epoxy with 207 clear hardener. All I can say is, wow. The contrast between before and after is amazing, if I do say so myself.

Aft stateroom steps, sanded and de-stapled

Aft stateroom steps, sanded and de-stapled

Fortunately, the aft stateroom steps had no ring nails in them and they’d suffered no water damage. There were tons of staples from the carpeting that used to cover them, but they came out pretty easily. The wood looks good enough that I wish I could just clear coat them. But with the rest of the wood stained red, I’ll have to do the same here.

Nice ribbon stripe

Nice ribbon stripe

The worst of the staple holes

After staining the steps, I mixed up some West System epoxy and brushed on a few heavy coats. But first, a reminder of what I started with…

Before

Before

After

After

The worst-of-the-worst staple area turned out pretty good

Shiny!

Everybody knows that shiny = slippery, and the last thing I need is slippery steps. So the plan here is that the epoxy makes a tough, durable surface that doesn’t hide the beautiful wood. We’ll sand them later, once all of the work inside is done, and spray with Awlgrip clear with a satin additive. Then, we’ll tape off the treads and spray Awlgrip clear with non-skid. The non-skid will make the the wood grain a bit opaque, but it should still look great.

Aft steps look good, too

Staple holes? What staple holes???

Staple holes? What staple holes???

Niiiice

Niiiice

With the epoxy cured, I protected the work with Cover Guard surface protection film. As with the aft stateroom walls and salon walls that I covered with single flute corrugated paper after the base coat refinishing was done, it’s kind of disappointing to cover the prettiness. But it’s all for the best. Plus, unwrapping the boat when I’m done will be like the biggest Christmas ever! 🙂

With the steps prettied up and covered, I wanted to highlight in an article one single mahogany board in the galley. The transformation from the old ghost ship days, when we began the refit, to now is pretty cool.

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: A Mahogany Board Gets Pretty

One comment on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Making the Aft Stateroom Steps Pretty

  1. Marty Molloy says:

    I’ve always liked working with mahogany. Looks great and smells great! ;0)

Leave a Reply

