1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Prepping the Salon Trim for Varnish

With the salon panels stained, next we had to sand and stain all of the trim pieces.

The salon door will clean up nicely

The salon door will clean up nicely, but all of those inside corners are a pain

Helm windshield panels will get sanded and stained, too

Helm windshield panels will get sanded and stained, too

Lots o' trim parts

Lots o’ trim parts

And still more trim parts

And still more trim parts

After

Staining with Pettit 1095P Original Mahogany paste filler stain

It took lots of “wipe on, wipe off” to get all of these pieces stained.

With everything stained, next we hung the trim pieces in my makeshift spray booth (AKA the aft deck, with lots of plastic masking film taped everywhere and big extractor fans waiting to go).

The stain needs to cure for 24 hours before spraying

The stain needs to cure for 24 hours before spraying them with ICA base coat clear.

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Spraying ICA Base Coat Clear in the Salon

2 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Prepping the Salon Trim for Varnish

  1. tracy doriot says:

    I gotta say, I look forward to these updates. This entire project is pretty freaking amazing. I appreciate the attention to detail and the thought that goes into each and every detail. The only thing saving this from being as expensive as Boston’s big dig, is that your labor is FREE ! I can’t even imagine how much your almost free yacht is going to end up costing. It will be amazing when its done. I hope we both live that long ! I can only say that due to some restoration project I have going on. Keep the updates coming.

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Thanks, Tracy! Yes, that “free labor” thing is grossly overrated. Even without charging my hourly rate, this project is costing a pretty penny. That said, I know people who spend fortunes on football season tickets, pretty new cars, and Renaissance festivals…to say nothing of psychotherapists! I suppose we all spend it somehow. I’d take my particular brand of therapy over any of the others!
      Cheers,
      Q

Leave a Reply

