1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing Aft Stateroom Walls V

Aft stateroom walls are going up one by one, and with the butt joint molding made and varnished, I’m ready to put in the next wall section.

Ripping off a section of prefinished African Mahogany to finish the wall

Ripping off a section of prefinished African Mahogany to finish the wall

It would be extremely difficult ripping boards this size in this small space using a table saw. Gotta love that EurekaZone track saw and EZ-One table. But with all of the sawing, routing, and sanding wood I’ve been doing, I found myself spending a lot of time running back and forth to turn the shop vac on and off. I also found myself going through lots of expensive shop vac filters. Prefilters helped a bit, but not by much. A couple of cool add-ons made a world of difference.

20amp remote control plug

20amp remote control plug turns the shop vac on and off from anywhere near the boat

The remote control plug is awesome, saving between 5 and 30 seconds every time I turn it on and off depending on where I am and what I’m doing. That can add up to tens of minutes saved over the course of a long day. It really helps keep up momentum, since I can activate it no matter which tool I’m using or what I happen to be doing.

Then there's the Dust Deputy

Then there’s the Dust Deputy cyclone pre-filter

I think the Dust Deputy was $50 or so on Amazon, but at $15 each for shop vac filters it pays for itself in no time. It catches even the finest sander dust and you can run water through it, too.

After three months of hard use

Looking good after three months of hard use

There’s almost no dust in the shop vac! And the 5-gallon bucket is much easier to walk off the boat to the dumpster than the big shop vac base. Back to the wall install…

Mark for the frame and backing block cut-outs

Mark for the frame and backing block cut-outs

The butt joint molding looks pretty good in the pic above, if I do say so myself.

Good fit to the frame and plywood above, and a good gap between panels

The gap between panels is good, but it’s a little tight at the top

A little bit more off the top will make for a perfect fit

A little bit more off the top will make for a perfect fit

Glued and screwed in

Ready for gluing and screwing

I like the way that butt joint molding turned out

If you ask me, that’s a pretty good looking butt joint!

Not bad for a rookie!

On to the next

Et voila! Just like the plan!

Next up in our 1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing Aft Stateroom Walls VI

4 comments on “1969 Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit: Installing Aft Stateroom Walls V

  1. Pat Daly says:

    In installment 46 the picture of the gap looking good also shows what looks to be old fiberglass insulation in the overhead. Why leave that in?

    • 1969roamer46 says:

      Hi Pat.
      I’ve been busy doing all sorts of other stuff. I plan to take a scraper to it and finish removing the old insulation before I spray foam this summer.
      Cheers,
      Q

  2. Kenny King says:

    Looking Good!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

